Board of Directors Announcement

Special Olympics Ontario is pleased to announce the appointment of John Bryden as Board Chair, along with the incoming Board of Directors for 2022-2023. 

The Board is comprised of broadly diverse leaders from the non-profit and for-profit sector who are dedicated to the organization’s mission, and strives to be a model of high governance performance with community reach and impact. 

Glenn MacDonell, President & CEO stated:  “We are excited to welcome our new Board of Directors who will help us accomplish our goals to ensure that children, youth and adults with an intellectual disability are given the opportunity to succeed in sport and in life.  Our programs not only strengthen communities, change attitudes and create a more inclusive society – Special Olympics is a catalyst for social change”. 

Our board members are active advocates and ambassadors for the organization and are fully engaged in identifying and securing the financial resources and partnerships necessary to meet our operational and strategic goals.

Welcome to our 2022-2023 Board of Directors:

John Bryden – Chair
Aly Champsi – Vice-Chair
Taje Mohabir – Past Chair (Ex-Officio)
Stephen Meade – Audit Committee Chair
Gillian Dingle – Secretary
Shemina Jiwani – Fundraising Chair
Erin Gordon – Governance Chair
Richard Onley
Warren Somers
Dr. Devin Singh
Shelly Lowe
Darcy Montgomery
Chief Jim MacSween
Julia Romualdi